

Media Contact

Jill Cook American School Counselor Association (703) 683-2722 jcook@schoolcounselor.org

For immediate release - April 16, 2020

American School Counselor Association Announces 2020 RAMP Schools

ALEXANDRIA, VA. – This year, 78 schools in 23 states received the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation. These schools will be honored during a special ceremony at the American School Counselor Association's Annual Conference for making an exemplary commitment to their school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools committed to delivering a data-informed school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program's inception, nearly 1,000 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients.

This year, Virginia leads the number of RAMP designations, with 11 schools in the state receiving the honor. Six schools, in California, Illinois, Nevada and Virginia, will receive the RAMP School of Distinction award, honoring schools with exceptionally high-caliber school counseling programs based on rankings determined by a panel of RAMP reviewers. RAMP-designated schools are now in 46 states across the country. The RAMP designation is good for five years, after which time schools must reapply to maintain their RAMP status. This year 19 schools earned Re-RAMP status, two of them for a fifth time and two of them for a fourth time.

"This year's RAMP honorees have shown their commitment to students and the school counseling profession," said Jill Cook, ASCA assistant director. "These schools used data to drive their program development and implementation so all students can achieve success. RAMP designation distinguishes these schools and encourages school counselors nationwide to strive for excellence."

The 2020 RAMP schools are:

Alabama

Fairhope Elementary School Fairhope

Fairhope Intermediate School Fairhope

Foley Middle School Foley

Helena Elementary School Helena

Homewood Middle School Homewood

Alaska

Robert Service High School Anchorage

Arizona

Flagstaff High School Flagstaff

California

David G. Millen Middle School Law and Government Academy West Palmdale

George A. Buljan Middle School (School of Distinction) Roseville

Marco Forster Middle School San Juan Capistrano

Norwalk High School Norwalk

Sequoia Middle School (Re-RAMP) Fontana

Shadow Hills Magnet Academy Palmdale

Shorecliffs Middle School San Clemente

Space & Aeronautics-Gateway To Exploration Academy Palmdale

Colorado

John F. Kennedy High School (Re-RAMP) Denver

Rocky Mountain High School Fort Collins

Florida

Mamie Agnes Jones Elementary School Baldwin

Manatee Middle School Naples

Richard Lewis Brown Gifted and Talented Academy Jacksonville

Georgia

International Charter School of Atlanta Roswell

Norcross Elementary School Norcross

Puckett's Mill Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Dacula

Sprayberry High School Marietta

Varner Elementary School Powder Springs

White Oak Elementary School Sugar Hill

Hawaii

Nanaikapono Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Wai'anae

Wai'anae Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Wai'anae

Illinois

A. Vito Martinez Middle School (School of Distinction) Romeoville

Adlai E. Stevenson High School Lincolnshire

Benito Juarez Community Academy Chicago

Chase Elementary School Chicago

Eric Solorio High School Chicago

John F. Kennedy High School

Chicago

Simpson Academy for Young Women (School of Distinction) Chicago

Westmont High School (Re-RAMP) Westmont

Yorkville High School Yorkville

Indiana

Beiriger Elementary School Griffith

Elsie Wadsworth Elementary School Griffith

Jennings County Middle School (Re-RAMP) North Vernon

Kesling Intermediate School La Porte

LaPorte Middle School La Porte

Mt. Vernon Middle School Fortville

Ready Elementary School Griffith

Towa

Lewiston Senior High School Lewiston

Lincoln Elementary School Charles City

Kentucky

Arnett Elementary School Erlanger

Campbell County Middle School (Re-RAMP) Alexandria

Maryland

Brunswick Elementary School Brunswick

Minnesota

Adams Spanish Immersion Elementary School

St. Paul

Missouri

Indian Trails Elementary School Independence

Park Hill South High School Riverside

North Carolina

Gray's Creek Middle School Hope Mills

Heritage High School (Re-RAMP) Wake Forest

Middle Creek High School (Re-RAMP) Apex

North Ridge Elementary School Raleigh

Panther Creek High School (Re-RAMP) Cary

Nevada

Priest Elementary School (School of Distinction) North Las Vegas

Sports Leadership and Management Academy Henderson

Oklahoma

Lincoln Elementary School Norman

Oregon

Witch Hazel Elementary School Hillsboro

Pennsylvania

Luis A. Ramos Elementary School Allentown

Pennsylvania School for the Deaf (Re-RAMP) Philadelphia

South Carolina

Carolina Springs Middle School (Re-RAMP) Lexington

Sevier Middle School (Re-RAMP) Greenville Sevier Middle School (Re-RAMP) Greenville

Tennessee

Ketron Elementary School Kingsport

Virginia

Atlee High School Mechanicsville

Cora Kelly Elementary School Alexandria

Gordon Elementary School Chesterfield

Hayfield Secondary School (School of Distinction/Re-RAMP) Alexandria

John Rolfe Middle School Henrico

Lanier Middle School (Re-RAMP) Fairfax

Randolph Elementary School Arlington

River Bend Middle School Sterling

Robert Frost Middle School (Re-RAMP) Fairfax

Sandston Elementary School Sandston

Washington Irving Middle School (School of Distinction/Re-RAMP) Springfield

RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals, who assess the school counseling programs in 12 different areas of expertise. The next submission deadline is Oct. 15, 2020. For more information on the program, visit www.schoolcounselor.org/ramp

###

About the American School Counselor Association

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) professional organization based in Alexandria, Va. ASCA promotes student success by expanding the image and influence of school counseling through leadership,

advocacy, collaboration and systemic change. ASCA helps school counselors guide their students toward academic achievement, career planning and social/emotional development to help today's students become tomorrow's productive, contributing members of society. Founded in 1952, ASCA has a network of 50 state and territory associations and a membership of approximately 36,000 school counseling professionals. For additional information on the American School Counselor Association, visit www.schoolcounselor.org.